Uploaded image for project: 'FreeNAS / TrueNAS'
  1. FreeNAS / TrueNAS
  2. NAS-101122

Clarify helptext for Sharing -> SMB -> Edit -> Browsable to Network Clients in new UI

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

      JEditor

        Description

        The tooltip says: "When set, users see the contents of /homes, which includes the home directories of other users. When unset, users only see their own home directory."

        Similar text here:
        https://www.ixsystems.com/documentation/freenas/11.2/sharing.html#windows-smb-shares

        Based on this description, I turned it off, because I don't have/want any network homes, and even if I did I'd only want each user to see his own. But I do want network shares. It seems without this checkbox turned on, the share cannot be connected to at all (at least from macOS). Took me a while it figure that out!

        It's almost as if the checkbox title makes sense, and the tooltip is totally wrong or copy-pasted from something else...

          Attachments

          1. smb1.png
            smb1.png
            22 kB
          2. smb2.png
            smb2.png
            22 kB

            Attachments

              Activity

                People

                Assignee:
                tim Tim Moore
                Reporter:
                seanm Sean McBride
                Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                2 Start watching this issue

                  Dates

                  Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:

                    Summary Panel