Uploaded image for project: 'FreeNAS / TrueNAS'
  1. FreeNAS / TrueNAS
  2. NAS-101122

Clarify helptext for Sharing -> SMB -> Edit -> Browsable to Network Clients in new UI

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

      Description

      The tooltip says: "When set, users see the contents of /homes, which includes the home directories of other users. When unset, users only see their own home directory."

      Similar text here:
      https://www.ixsystems.com/documentation/freenas/11.2/sharing.html#windows-smb-shares

      Based on this description, I turned it off, because I don't have/want any network homes, and even if I did I'd only want each user to see his own. But I do want network shares. It seems without this checkbox turned on, the share cannot be connected to at all (at least from macOS). Took me a while it figure that out!

      It's almost as if the checkbox title makes sense, and the tooltip is totally wrong or copy-pasted from something else...

        Attachments

        1. smb1.png
          22 kB
          Jeff Ervin
        2. smb2.png
          22 kB
          Jeff Ervin

          Attachments

            Activity

              People

              Assignee:
              tim Tim Moore
              Reporter:
              seanm Sean McBride
              Votes:
              0 Vote for this issue
              Watchers:
              2 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                Created:
                Updated:
                Resolved:

                  Summary Panel