Uploaded image for project: 'FreeNAS / TrueNAS'
  1. FreeNAS / TrueNAS
  2. NAS-101655

Remove deprecated upgrading note from Guide

    XMLWordPrintable

    Details

    • Has Acceptance Criteria:
      Yes
    • Needs Doc:
      Yes
    • Needs QA:
      Yes
    • Attempts to pass:
      1
    • Testing System:
      VMware Virtual Machine
    • QA Status:
      Test Passes FreeNAS
    • Acceptance Criteria:
      Verify note removed from Guide.
    • Doc Engineer:
      Aaron St John
    • Doc Commit Version:
      angulargui, 11.2-angular
    • Docs Complete:
      Yes

      Description

      In "Installing and Upgrading" chapter, there is a note that says this:

      "A FreeNAS® system can be upgraded by backing up the existing configuration data, performing a fresh install, then restoring the configuration. Back up the configuration with System ‣ General ‣ Save Config. Choose Fresh Install during the installation. After booting into the new install, restore the previous configuration data with System ‣ General ‣ Upload Config."

      This is mentioned right after the installer automatic upgrade is shown.  There is no reasoning for why this is shown here, and it is confusing to present an alternate and more complicated method with no reason.  This note should be reworked, moved, or removed entirely.  It is an expert-level suggestion and does not belong with the simple installer upgrade method.

        Attachments

          Container Issues

            Activity

              People

              • Assignee:
                aaron Aaron St. John
                Reporter:
                wblock Warren Block
                QE Engineer:
                Dru Lavigne
              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                3 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:

                  Summary Panel