Documentation states that when "export read only" is set, all write bits are removed. This is not related to the "export read only" checkbox. It interacts with to the DOS "read only" attribute for an SMB share. If DOS "readonly" is set, then the write bits are removed. If it is unset, then they are added back (up to the Create Mask).